The things we take for granted.

For nearly the last year, I’ve not had any glasses, and have more or less been squinting my way around work and home. Eventually I got used to it, and I went to the optometrist yesterday for the first time in almost 5 years. The small preview I got, the way things look when they’re actually clear, it made me desperate to really be able to see again. I was given my prescription, and away I went.

It’s all I can think about, now.

I bought a pair of glasses off Zenni Optical for around $25 with shipping. You choose your frames, and plug in the information on your prescription. In two or three weeks, I should be getting my first pair of glasses in ten months.

I chose these frames in black, I’m really excited for them to arrive 🙂

Lately I’ve been feeling down on myself for not currently being in post secondary. I know that I want to learn and become an educated person, and I think I’m going to have to do this on my own terms. I’m not going to teach myself everything. I’ve got so many resources available to me, I just need to search them out and avail myself of them.

My thirst for knowledge and ravenous hunger for stimulating discussion is so strong that I can’t bear to let my brain stagnate. I want to make full use of my mind and memory, because in gaining and recalling knowledge, I believe that one can truly experience life to the fullest.

The most important thing to me is my ability to create and to wonder. Learning grants me to opportunity to tint the world with a different perception, and the new “way of looking” is what distinguishes art from the mundane.

I work tonight, and then I have tomorrow off. I think I’m going to spend the day playing with my tablet, drawing schematics for some new designs, collecting photos, watching Buffy, knitting and thinking up a domain name.

Have a wonderful day, everyone ❤

3 responses to “The things we take for granted.

  1. I’m waiting ’till they come in and if they’re not a scam I will order me some too!

  2. Those glasses look beautiful. I now can barely get out of the bed without putting on glasses or contact lenses, my eyesight is really bad, but I still remember many many years back, I was about 7, I think, when I first put on the glasses I had needed for quite some time – and I remember feeling exactly the way you felt. I was a kid so I of course hated them but at the same time, I was SO EXCITED to actually SEE clearly.

    (I found the link to your blog in the laceandflora community at LJ, I loved your pictures and insightful comments, I hope you don’t mind me snooping around. :))

Leave a Reply

