I am the Mistress of all I o’ersee.

This is Cordelia II, my sewing machine with computerparts. I got her last year for my birthday and I have sorely neglected her. She is the second sewing machine I’ve owned, and her predecessor now belongs to my sister. Cordelia II and I have had a tenuous relationship in the last year, because the first project I tried to make with her (a pair of cotton pajama pants) came out gravely misshapen and too small in the butt area. I maintain to this day that this was, in fact, her fault. We also made an attempt at fashioning a gorgeous foufy skirt, but I have since put the pieces away and don’t remember how they go anymore. Cordelia II has spent the remainder of time in various closets.

BUT NO MORE!

All is forgiven. Cordelia II and I work wonderfully together now (especially after a beer or two). Fluid and flawless, she and I sew like a dream. In fact, while the needle glides through the fabric, one is reminded of that scene in Monster when Charlize Theron and Christina Ricci are skating around the roller-rink gazing into each other’s eyes. One can even hear, as a matter of fact, Journey’s Don’t Stop Believin’ cranked over some crackly loud-speaker. Such is the beauty of it, really.

Just like this (except I’m Charlize Theron and Cordelia II is Christina Ricci)

We turned a pair of high school jeans into a cute denim skirt. Check it.

Skirt FrontSkirt Back
(don’t mind the lopsideyness of the front picture.. I’m sticking my hip out all supermodely)

I can’t really add a bottom hem right now, or do any of the fancy double-stitching (or whatever it’s called) until I get myself an iron and ironing board (or something like it) but I don’t care. It’s the first project I’ve finished in years with a sewing machine and I’m proud. I used to make myself hoodies out of old shirts in high school, but they were always sketchy looking. I’m actually not scared to wear this. Yay me!! I mean.. US!

One response to “I am the Mistress of all I o’ersee.

  1. This is super cute! How did you do it? I have sooo many pairs of jeans I’ll never fit into again, and only one denim miniskirt that’s also too small… I just bought my very first sewing machine a few weeks ago, and I’m really loving it! Thannnnks!

Leave a Reply

