Great Success!

I sold the first nude I’ve ever drawn the other day. There isn’t a feeling I know of like someone wanting to pay you for a thought-process of yours on paper. I had it framed not long ago with a black mat and a shiny metal frame to make it look extra sharp, to hang it in the house, not expecting to be selling it a few weeks later.

That felt good. Damn good.

I started my oil painting class last week. I’ve found my newest favorite medium to work with. Paint thinner is my new best friend, for sure. Later this afternoon, my sweetie and I are going to the poorly stocked office supply/art supply shop to price out paint and brushes. I can’t wait. I want to build a paint box that holds a canvas board for plein air like this one. It would be so handy to have something to paint on in the living room on my lap that is relatively self-contained instead of spreading paint and destruction everywhere.

My art instructor might be putting on a figure-drawing class later on, I’ll be sure to take it. I find that my biggest challenge with charcoal and pencil is getting the mid-range tonal values right when it comes to drawing skin. I don’t know, maybe my brain thinks – this is a white person I am drawing, this is white paper I’m drawing on.. 1+1= WHITE SPACE IS THE ANSWER TO SKIN.

No, Kaitlin. No. It’s the age-old left vs. right brain fight rearing its ugly draw-what-is-there vs. draw-what-you-think-you-see head again. That sentence made no sense to anyone but me.

Anyways, my Tree Jacket is at a stand-still, but I’m still really interested in finishing it so all is not lost. I’ve got maybe 2 inches left of the body pattern before I move on to the garter sleeves which will just fly if only I could lengthen the hours in the day to accomadate all the things I want to do.

2 responses to “Great Success!

  1. “It’s the age-old left vs. right brain fight rearing its ugly draw-what-is-there vs. draw-what-you-think-you-see head again. That sentence made no sense to anyone but me.”

    naw girl, that sentence makes perfect sense.

  2. Hey, I appreciate it. Means a lot.

Leave a Reply

