Handspun, books and ROCKING OUT HCORE.

AHAHA. I just beat Guitar Hero III on Medium. Took me two days. I never even failed one song!

IMG_0778
There’s my wireless, plastic, teeny tiny axe.

Now, Guitar Hero does not even compare to rocking out in the real world, but it’s the only video game I can beat, dammit.

A couple of my books came!
IMG_0779

I’m planning on reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, by the same guy who wrote Everything is Illuminated which was made into a film with Elijah Wood that I saw last year and absolutely adored. I hope this is as good.
Knitting Lingerie Style came, too. I’m really fascinated with Joan McGowan-Michael and her designs. She’s been featured it the same issue of Interweave that had the Tunic pattern, and I’ve been stalking her website, White Lies Designs. I have a pattern for some really cute knee-high fishnets in one of my Knit.1 mags that I might try sometime. For now, I’m just going to oooogle the patterns in this book.

Okay, okay. On to the good part. I spun up two bobbins full (as finely as I could) of this wool/silk I bought off of Barb next door, and plied them. Holy crap. I made the prettiest yarn ever.

IMG_0784
Looks like a sunset to me.

I actually managed to spin a yarn that’s between fingering and DK weight, and I’ve got about 165 yards of it! There it is, in the snow on the deck. I am ridiculously proud of it, and I still have about half of the roving left. I have no idea what one could make out of this yardage, but whatever it is, I’ll make it special. ❤

One response to “Handspun, books and ROCKING OUT HCORE.

  1. hey this is ambraqi from ravelry – got linked here from there – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is one of my favorite books – it is amazing! Good luck on Guitar Hero Hard!

Leave a Reply

