First things first.

I took the first apprehensive steps today into sock knitting. I wasn’t about to start knitting them cuff-first, so it’s toe-up for me. I tried in vain last night to make sense of this “Magic Cast On” for my dpn’s, because I wasn’t about to use circulars. It finally ‘clicked’ today for me, though, and I cast on the first toe of my first sock.

IMG_0714

There it is! Those are US 2s in bamboo, with little handmade stitch markers made of tiny little jump rings (the row marker has a pretty clear bead).

I figure since this is a post of firsts, I’ll showcase my first spindle plied and wheel spun yarns, EVER.

First ever spindle-plied, 60% wool/40% mohair
IMG_0719

IMG_0720

This is my first wheel-spun yarn! I’m very excited about it. I think I did really well for a first-timer and it was nice to have Barb there to let me know exactly what I was doing. It was so much fun!

I have absolutely NO idea what I’m going to do with each of them, seeing as how they’re only about 50 yards each.. I don’t think even Ravelry can help me figure that out.

I think I’m going to go read now. Being a little overworked this week, paired with 5 tall beers has made Alex pass right out tonight.

PS: In keeping with the theme, the banner up top is my first try at Photoshop! Woohoo!

One response to “First things first.

  1. Congratulations on starting the socks!
    The small yardage would be perfect for little treasure bags…

Leave a Reply

