So it begins.

Yesterday, Margie and I went over and met our next door neighbor, and spinning instructor Barb. She’s got a great shop in her basement set up, full of specialty yarns, organized by sheep breed and blend. It was a treat to go and chat with her, and to finally meet another knitter in Cold Lake. She let me take a drop spindle and some roving home so I could try my hand at spinning..

006

I’m going to spin up the rest of the roving we have here, and Margie is going to knit herself a pretty scarf of it. I don’t know how my stamina will be, seeing as how I have 8 ounces to spin solely with a drop spindle, but I’ll do my best.

My Bonsai Tunic is almost halfway done, I started decreasing for armholes the other day, I expect to be finished the back by the end of the week at the rate I’m going.

I cast on a couple days ago for Ester, my KAL with Katelyn. I’m using Peace Fleece in some unknown color that looks like burnt terra cotta of some sort. I love it. It’s a little on the scratchy, full-of-grass side of things, kind of like Noro, but I don’t mind. I was able to get gauge and it says on the label that the yarn gets softer with washings. The garment isn’t going to be against my skin, so it’s a moot point.

I’m obsessed with reading other people’s blogs again. I’ll have to make a blogroll of sorts going down the side of this thing to show my appreciation.

One response to “So it begins.

  1. I love your handspun and your photo is wonderful, too!

Leave a Reply

